Ricci Lumber Time Line
1956 - on Halloween, Ricci Supply is founded by general contractor and real estate developer, Erminio Ricci and his son, Bud Ricci.
1957 - Bud Ricci answers Uncle Sam's call and enlists in the Army--but first works tirelessly to get the store and lumberyard open.
1960 - Don Hayes, Mr. Ricci's new son-in-law joins the company and works his way up to general manager by the mid-60's.
1971 - Ricci Homes is founded as a subsidiary to take customers from foundation to finish.
1972 - Area Millwork opens on Albany St. in Portsmouth.
1976 - Ed Hayes begins working summers.
1977 - Pat Moretti starts working in the hardware department.
1978 - Ricci Supply has its first Contractor Expo at Yoken's Conference Center and over 250 builders attend.
1979 - The main store is expanded from less than 2,000 sq. ft. to 10,000 sq. ft., and a second story is added.
1982 - On January 12th, sadly and unexpectedly, our founder and president, Mr. Ricci passed away. He was 78.
1983 - Ricci Lumber joins American Hardware (Aka Servistar) giving us national exposure and buying power.
1984 - Ricci Lumber becomes fully computerized.
1985 - Big at the time, we go electronic with our first fax machine, copiers and computer.
1987 - Ricci Supply gets its first boom truck for delivery.
1988 - Area Kitchen Centre opens for showcasing kitchens better. Jeanne Hayes is manager.
1989 - After many years of waiting, Ricci Lumber gets approval for a lighted sign on Bartlett Street.
1991 - On May 3, the complete facility burned to the ground. We never closed one day as we worked from trailers. A new state of the art facility opens 3 months later.
1992 - Ricci Supply becomes Ricci Lumber to better express what we sell.
1994 - Ricci Lumber and ACE Hardware join together giving us a larger resource for hardware.
1996 - After serving over 6 years in the Army, Ed Hayes joins the company full-time and begins learning all facets of the company.
2000 - The last Contractor Expo is held at Yoken's-Expo #8 and over 750 people attend.
2001 - Ricci Lumber launches its first website and e-mail system.
2002 - Adding to our fleet of vehicles, we add a forklift (moffit) truck and a boom truck.
2004 - We have our first end of the summer contractor event with Fiesta 2004 and over 600 people attend.
2005 - Ricci employees and customers raise over $6,000 for Hurricane Katrina victims.
2006 - Ricci launches its first interactive website. Area Kitchen is modernized with a total remodel.
2007 - Today Ricci is owned and operated by Ed and Jeanne Hayes and boast 11,000 sq. ft. of showroom space and six acres of lumber and building materials.
2009- Ricci Lumber has its first ever Contractor/Golf Outing.
2010-Ricci Lumber launches a brand new computer system to help better serve customers.